Winners of ICC Twenty20 World Cup

The battle of T20 world cup fought this year and the cricket fans got crazy to watch it online. ICC Twenty20 world is the second most liked and most favorite sports event in cricket after the ICC ODI World Cup. It is relatively new competition that has just introduced after emergence of the shorter cricket format the T20. The first Word T20 was held in 2007 in South Africa and won by India. Pakistan was the runner-up. The last begin played recently in 2016 and the won by West Indies against the England. And, it was the second time West Indies become the champion of world T20.[AdSense-A]

The next two world cups in T20 formats are planed to be held in 2018 and 2020 respectively. However the host for the 2018 world cup is not yet announced, will be announced soon by ICC. It’s been rumored  that South Africa will be the next host. The 2020 world cup will be hosted by Australia. We will let you know soon when the schedule for 2018 world cup announce.

T20 World Cup Winners

For Live World Cup matches Online, Click Here

Winners of ICC Twenty20 World Cup

Year Host(s) Winner Runner-up Result
2007 South Africa India
157/5 (20 overs)
152 all out (19.4 overs)
India won by 5 runs
2009 England Pakistan
139/2 (18.4 overs)
Sri Lanka
138/6 (20 overs)
Pakistan won by 8 wickets
2010 West Indies England
148/3 (17 overs)
147/6 (20 overs)
England won by 7 wickets
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies
137/6 (20 overs)
Sri Lanka
101 all out (18.4 overs)
West Indies won by 36 runs
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka
134/4 (17.5 overs)
130/4 (20 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets
2016 India West Indies
161/6 (19.4 overs)
155/9 (20 overs)
West Indies won by 4 wickets
2018 To Be announced
2020 Australia


Since 2007 till now, total 6 Twenty20 world cup competitions have held. The event held every two year. Almost same number of teams participates in the T20 world cup; few directly while other through a qualifying round.  There were total 16 teams in world T20 this year (2016). List of the teams participated in 2016 world cup are following:

See the Winners of ICC World Cup ODI

  • Pakistan: Won the world cup of 2009
  • Australia: The most successful team in ICC ODI World Cup, but has no T20 world cup won yet
  • India: The champion of the first World T20 Cup.
  • England: Hosted 2009 event and the winner of 2010
  • South Africa: The host for the first world cup T20
  • New Zealand
  • Sri Lanka won the world cup 2014 against the India
  • Bangladesh: Hosted 2014 world cup Twenty20
  • West Indies: won the vent 2 times
  • Zimbabwe
  • Netherlands
  • Scotland
  • Ireland
  • Afghanistan
  • Hong Kong
  • Oman
Twenty20 World Cup 2016 Champions

West Indies Celebrating the Victory of Winning T20 world cup 2016


The Most Successful World T20 Team

West Indies is the current world T20 champion has won the event 2 times, once in 2012 and other in 2016.No other team has held the winner title for two times, however 4 other countries have won the championship one time. These include Pakistan, India, England and Sri Lanka. The Current ICC World Cup, the ODI Fifty50 format, champion Australia, who won the ICC Cup 5 times, fails to prove themselves in the shorter format of cricket. Australia remains the runner-up however in 2010 World Cup and lost the match against England. India appears 2 times in the final of the main event, won one with one being lost against the Sri Lanka in 2014.

Join The Discussion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.