List of Stanley Cup Winners and Finalists

Stanley Cup is considered as one of the major sports event especially for Ice Hockey and NHL. The cup is awarded every year to the winner of the NHL final match. The playoff winner’s team name is written over the silver cup. And it is not recent but the history of Stanley cup is dated back since 1893 where it first held for a year by Montreal AAA. However there was no competition for the cup that year and Montreal AAA (the Amateur Athletic Association) hockey club held it without any match with challenger. On subsequent year, in 1894, Montreal AAA won the cup once again but this time there was a full-length hockey match held between the AAA and Ottawa Generals. Below in the table, you can see the full list of all Stanley Cup winner along with the year the competition held and the runner up team.


Guidelines for Stanley Cup and Winners

Stanley cup is actually a donation to the Amateur Athletic Association of Canada by Lord Stanley in 1892. Lord Stanley was the Governor General of Canada at that time. There is now competition for the cup each year and the NHL and association has set some guidelines for handing over the cup to the next team. These guidelines are following

  • Stanley Cup is not the property of any of the Hockey team of either NHL or any other association.
  • The Hockey Cup is a challenge and will remain challenge competition each year.
  • Winning team of Stanley’s cup has to maintain the trophy in good condition
  • The winner of the cup has to return the cup to governing body as and when required
  • Trustees of the NHL and Stanley’s trophy have the right and authority over the cup in all situations.
  • Every winner name to be imprinted over the cup on the day they won the cup.
  • From the board of existing trustee, if someone died or dropped, the board will nominate another suitable person whether from the former players of NHL or from members of NHL clubs.

List of Stanley Cup Winners


List of Stanley Cup Winners till 2016

Year Winning Team Runner Up Finalist
2016 Pittsburgh Penguins San Jose Sharks
2015 Chicago Blackhawks Tampa Bay Lightning
2014 Los Angeles Kings New York Rangers
2013 Chicago Blackhawks Boston Bruins
2012 Los Angeles Kings New Jersey Devils
2011 Boston Bruins Vancouver Canucks
2010 Chicago Blackhawks Philadelphia Flyers
2009 Pittsburgh Penguins Detroit Red Wings
2008 Detroit Red Wings Pittsburgh Penguins
2007 Anaheim Ducks Ottawa Senators
2006 Carolina Hurricanes Edmonton Oilers
2004 Tampa Bay Lightning Calgary Flames
2003 New Jersey Devils Mighty Ducks Of Anaheim
2002 Detroit Red Wings Carolina Hurricanes
2001 Colorado Avalanche New Jersey Devils
2000 New Jersey Devils Dallas Stars
1999 Dallas Stars Buffalo Sabres
1998 Detroit Red Wings Washington Capitals
1997 Detroit Red Wings Philadelphia Flyers
1996 Colorado Avalanche Florida Panthers
1995 New Jersey Devils Detroit Red Wings
1994 New York Rangers Vancouver Canucks
1993 Montreal Canadiens Los Angeles Kings
1992 Pittsburgh Penguins Chicago Blackhawks
1991 Pittsburgh Penguins Minnesota North Stars
1990 Edmonton Oilers Boston Bruins
1989 Calgary Flames Montreal Canadiens
1988 Edmonton Oilers Boston Bruins
1987 Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Flyers
1986 Montreal Canadiens Calgary Flames
1985 Edmonton Oilers Philadelphia Fyers
1984 Edmonton Oilers New York Islanders
1983 New York Islanders Edmonton Oilers
1982 New York Islanders Vancouver Canucks
1981 New York Islanders Minnesota North Stars
1980 New York Islanders Philadelphia Flyers
1979 Montreal Canadiens New York Rangers
1978 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1977 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1976 Montreal Canadiens Philadelphia Flyers
1975 Philadelphia Flyers Buffalo Sabres
1974 Philadelphia Flyers Boston Bruins
1973 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1972 Boston Bruins New York Rangers
1971 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1970 Boston Bruins St. Louis Blues
1969 Montreal Canadiens St. Louis Blues
1968 Montreal Canadiens St. Louis Blues
1967 Toronto Maple Leafs Montreal Canadiens
1966 Montreal Canadiens Detroit Red Wings
1965 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1964 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1963 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1962 Toronto Maple Leafs Chicago Blackhawks
1961 Chicago Blackhawks Detroit Red Wings
1960 Montreal Canadiens Toronto Maple Leafs
1959 Montreal Canadiens Toronto Maple Leafs
1958 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1957 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1956 Montreal Canadiens Detroit Red Wings
1955 Detroit Red Wings Montreal Canadiens
1954 Detroit Red Wings Montreal Canadiens
1953 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1952 Detroit Red Wings Montreal Canadiens
1951 Toronto Maple Leafs Montreal Canadiens
1950 Detroit Red Wings New York Rangers
1949 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1948 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1947 Toronto Maple Leafs Montreal Canadiens
1946 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1945 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1944 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Blackhawks
1943 Detroit Red Wings Boston Bruins
1942 Toronto Maple Leafs Detroit Red Wings
1941 Boston Bruins Detroit Red Wings
1940 New York Rangers Toronto Maple Leafs
1939 Boston Bruins Toronto Maple Leafs
1938 Chicago Blackhawks Toronto Maple Leafs
1937 Detroit Red Wings New York Rangers
1936 Detroit Red Wings Toronto Maple Leafs
1935 Montreal Maroons Toronto Maple Leafs
1934 Chicago Black Hawks Detroit Red Wings
1933 New York Rangers Toronto Maple Leafs
1932 Toronto Maple Leafs New York Rangers
1931 Montreal Canadiens Chicago Black Hawks
1930 Montreal Canadiens Boston Bruins
1929 Boston Bruins New York Rangers
1928 New York Rangers Montreal Maroons
1927 Ottawa Senators Boston Bruins
1926 Montreal Maroons Victoria Cougars
1925 Victoria Cougars Montreal Canadiens
1924 Montreal Canadiens Calgary Tigers
Vancouver Maroons
1923 Ottawa Senators Edmonton Eskimos
Vancouver Maroons
1922 Toronto St. Pats Vancouver Millionaires
1921 Ottawa Senators Vancouver Millionaires
1920 Ottawa Senators Seattle Metropolitans
1919 No Decision
1918 Toronto Arenas Vancouver Millionaires
1917 Seattle Metropolitans Montreal Canadiens
1916 Montreal Canadiens Portland Rosebuds
1915 Vancouver Millionaires Ottawa Senators>Td>
1914 Toronto Blueshirts Victoria Cougars
Montreal Canadiens
1913 Quebec Bulldogs Sydney Miners
1912 Quebec Bulldogs Moncton Victories
1911 Ottawa Senators Port Arthur Bearcats
1910 Montreal Wanderers
Ottawa Senators
Berlin Union Jacks
Edmonton Eskimos
1909 Ottawa Senators (No Challengers)
1908 Montreal Wanderers Edmonton Eskimos
Toronto Trolley Leaguers
Winnipeg Maple Leafs
Ottawa Victorias
1907 Montreal Wanderers
Kenora Thistles
Kenora Thistles
Brandon Wheat Kings
Montreal Wanderers

Montreal Wanderers

Ottawa Silver Seven

New Glascow Cubs
Ottawa Silver Seven
Montreal Wanderers
Smiths Falls
Queen’s University
1905 Ottawa Silver Seven Rat Portage Thistles
Dawson City Nuggets
1904 Ottawa Silver Seven Brandon Wheat Kings
Montreal Wanderers
Toronto Marlboros
Winnipeg Rowing Club

Ottawa Silver Seven

Montreal AAA

Rat Portage Thistles
Montreal Victorias
Winnipeg Victorias
1902 Montreal AAA
Winnipeg Victorias
Winnipeg Victorias
Toronto Wellingtons
1901 Winnipeg Victorias Montreal Shamrocks
1900 Montreal Shamrocks Halifax Crescents
Winnipeg Victorias
1899 Montreal Shamrocks
Montreal Victorias
Queen’s University
Winnipeg Victorias
1898 Montreal Victorias (No Challengers)
1897 Montreal Victorias Ottawa Capitals
1896 Montreal Victorias
Winnipeg Victorias
Winnipeg Victorias
Montreal Victorias
1895 Montreal Victorias (No Challengers)
1894 Montreal AAA Ottawa Generals
1893 Montreal AAA (No Challengers)


Join The Discussion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.