List of ICC Cricket World Cup Winners By Year

To all the cricket fans out there, would you name the country that has won 5 ICC Cricket world cup finals? Here is clue; they are famous for their Kangaroos. Yes, Australia is the country that has won 5 cricket world cups so far. Australia is perhaps the country with most tenanted cricket players especially the fast bowlers. The team also holds the title of current world champion as they won the ICC Cup 2015.


Now let’s talk about the other teams that have won the cricket cup, but first take a look of ICC Cricket World Cup itself. It is an international championship trophy that is given to the winner of One Day International ICC World Cup. It is among the most favorite and most viewed sport event after Football World Cup, Rio Olympics and the Super Bowl. ICC WC is played in ODI format which encompasses a Day-Night match of 50 over length. ODI Cricket World Cup held every four yearly. Remember that there is also a T20 world cup that has the 20 over match format and held every 2 yearly.

Click here to watch live Cricket Streaming

List of ICC Cricket World Cup Winner

Year Winner Runner-up Margin Host(s)
1975 West Indies
291/8 (60 overs)
274 all out (58.4 overs)
West Indies won by 17 runs England
1979 West Indies
286/9 (60 overs)
194 all out (51 overs)
West Indies won by 92 runs England
1983 India
183 all out (54.4 overs)
West Indies
140 all out (52 overs)
India won by 43 runs England
1987 Australia
253/5 (50 overs)
246/8 (50 overs)
Australia won by 7 runs India, Pakistan
1992 Pakistan
249/6 (50 overs)
227 all out (49.2 overs)
Pakistan won by 22 runs Australia, New Zealand
1996 Sri Lanka
245/3 (46.2 overs)
241/7 (50 overs)
Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Pakistan, India
Sri Lanka
1999 Australia
133/2 (20.1 overs)
132 all out (39 overs)
Australia won by 8 wickets England
2003 Australia
359/2 (50 overs)
234 all out (39.2 overs)
Australia won by 125 runs South Africa, Zimbabwe
2007 Australia
281/4 (38 overs)
Sri Lanka
215/8 (36 overs)
Australia won by 53 runs West Indies
2011 India
277/4 (48.2 overs)
Sri Lanka
274/6 (50 overs)
India won by 6 wickets India, Sri Lank, Bangladesh
2015 Australia
186/3 (33.1 overs)
New Zealand
183 all out (45 overs)
Australia won by 7 wickets Australia, New Zealand

Upcoming Cricket World Cup

England, Wales
2023 India


ICC World Cup 2015 Winner

Australia: The Winner of ICC World Cup 2015

Cricket world Cup governs and organized by International Cricket Council in coordination with the National Cricket Board of the country where it going to be held. Cricket WC can be hosted in any of the countries that are the full-member of ICC. These are 10 countries namely Pakistan, England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Australia, India, New Zealand and South Africa. All these countries are Test Playing countries. There are some non full-members that can be the part of Cricket World Cup by going through qualifying rounds. These ICC non full-member teams include Afghanistan, Kenya, Ireland, UAE and Hong Kong.

The first world cup was played in England and it was in 1975. The winner for that world cup was West Indies who defeat Australia. West Indies also won the next World cup as well that was held in 1979. Australia was once again the runner up of that tournament. Winner of the 3rd main event of cricket was India who beat West Indies in final. All these first 3 world cups were hosted by England. Since 1975, 11 world cup events has have taken place. Out of these eleven, Australia won 5 WCs; India won 2 and so the West Indies. Pakistan won the world cup of 1992 and Sri Lanka won the 1996 one. For more precise view of the World Cup winning countries, refer to the list given below. It’s a year-wise list starting from 1975 to onward.


About the Upcoming ICC World Cups

Well, so far the 11 world cup has played while two upcoming WCs are being schedule to play four year apart in 2019 and 2023. The 12th Cricket World Cup will be held in England while the 13th World Cup will be hosted by India. Now be patient and wait for those cricket mega events. Stay connected with Crizmo to stay updated with all the latest news about Cricket, World Cup, Squads, Schedule and many more. You can also visit our site to get handy information about other sports including the American football, NHL, MLB, NFC and more.

Quick Question: Who Will Win the ICC World Cup 2019? Let’s Predict and let us know in Comments

Join The Discussion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.